Season Event

Fairfax Symphony Orchestra: Connections Through Time

Christopher Zimmerman, conductor
Simone Dinnerstein, piano

  • April 21, 2018 at 8:00 pm

Concert Hall

Bach: Keyboard Concerto in G minor, BWV 1058
Glass: Piano Concerto No. 3 (Regional Premiere)
Simone Dinnerstein, piano

Vaughan Williams: Fantasia on a Theme by Thomas Tallis

Elgar: Introduction and Allegro for Strings

Simone Dinnerstein returns to perform the regional premiere of a new concerto written for her by renowned composer Philip Glass.  " I have been a fan of Glass since my teens. In fact, his music drama "The Photographer" was the first live event I attended without an adult, and I have always associated his music with coming of age” says Dinnerstein.  “There are almost no concertos written for piano and strings since Bach's time. Both Glass and I have a strong interest in Bach and how his music impacts us today. The pairing of the Bach concerto with his own composition will create myriad strands of connectivity enabling the listener to create bridges between the old and new."

Tickets: $65, $53, $39
Student Tickets: $15

Pre-Performance Discussion: Conductor Christopher Zimmerman and special guests (Apr 21, 2018) Pre-Performance Discussion

Visit Artist Web Site

Buy Tickets