Season Event

Fairfax Symphony Orchestra: Mozart Requiem  

Christopher Zimmerman, conductor
Fairfax Choral Society and the Music & Arts Chorus

  • March 10, 2018 at 8:00 pm

Concert Hall

Prokofiev: Violin Concerto No. 2
Ilya Kaler, violin
Mozart: Requiem

Prokofiev composed his bittersweet and soaring Violin Concerto No. 2 in 1935, as he was returning to Russia after decades in the West. The work is said to reflect Prokofiev’s nomadic concert-tour life – with the main theme composed in Paris, the 2nd movement in Voronezh, the orchestration in Baku and the premiere in Madrid.  Hear this classic played by the contemporary violin master Ilya Kaler, past Gold Medal winner of the world’s most prestigious international violin competitions including the Tchaikovsky competition in Moscow and the Sibelius Competition in Helsinki.

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart’s sublime Requiem needs no introduction to music lovers everywhere. Its manifold beauties have inspired performers and listeners alike for more than two centuries, while intriguing audiences with its mysterious history and unfinished score.

Pre-Performance Discussion: Conductor Christopher Zimmerman and special guests (Mar 10, 2018) Pre-Performance Discussion

Visit Artist Web Site

Buy Tickets