Season Event

Fairfax Symphony Orchestra

Presents Grieg, Rachmaninoff, and Virginia Premiere by Larry Alan Smith

  • November 16, 2013 at 8:00 pm

Concert Hall

Christopher Zimmerman, Conductor
Carrie Koffman, saxophone

The Fairfax Symphony Orchestra will highlight the saxophone in the Virginia premiere of Larry Alan Smith’s Saxophone Concerto and as a prominent voice within the orchestra in Rachmaninoff’s Symphonic Dances.  The FSO invites internationally renowned artist and pedagogue, Carrie Koffman, to the stage to perform both works.  The program will begin with Grieg’s best-known work for orchestra, the Peer Gynt Suite.

GRIEG: Peer Gynt Suite No. 1
LARRY ALAN SMITH: Concerto for Soprano Saxophone and Strings
RACHMANINOFF: Symphonic Dances

Visit Artist Web Site

$60, $45, $25