Season Event

China National Symphony Orchestra

  • February 2, 2013 at 8:00 pm

Concert Hall

Li Xincao, conductor
Yang Xu, violin

Guan Xia: Requiem for the Earth, Mvt. I
Sibelius: Violin Concerto in D minor, Op. 47
Rachmaninoff: Symphony No. 2

This grand orchestra, credited with creating an orchestral tradition unique to China, showcases its impressive artistry and award-winning instrumentalists with music from East to West under the baton of  En Shao. For the last half century, the China National Symphony Orchestra has introduced audiences throughout its homeland to an immense repertoire of classical, romantic, modern, and contemporary orchestral works by both Western and Asian composers, and has collaborated with some of the classical music world’s stars such as Yo-Yo Ma, Lang Lang, Seiji Ozawa, Charles Dutoit, and Isaac Stern. The program includes the opening movement from Guan Xia’s Requiem for the Earth, written in remembrance of the 2008 Sichuan earthquake, Sibelius’ glorious Violin Concerto with celebrated soloist Yang Xu, and Rachmaninoff’s passionate Symphony No. 2. “A solid, energetic, and meticulously drilled ensemble.” (The Washington Post)

View the translated China National Symphony Orchestra herald (PDF).

This performance is generously sponsored by Evelyn and Tom Kiley.

$60, $52, $30